It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2006, 06:06 PM   #1
(female)

have_pain_pump HB User
Question Pain Pump Question

[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=2][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue]Hi Everyone,

This is my first time here. I was reading the posts from some of you who have Intrathecal Pain Pumps. Very informative. I didn't realize there was one that didn't use a battery -- thus doesn't have to be replaced every 4-5 years.

I have had my pain pump for a little over 4 years. I'm a little concerned about how long I'll have to be off work when they replace it but even MORE concerned about some of the problems I'm having and uncertain whether they're related to the pump/medication or not.

I have morphine in my pump. What I've noticed though is that, since I've had the pump, I've had a lot of hair loss, tooth decay, bowel problems and trouble concentrating (sometimes unable to think of a certain word I want to use; trouble remembering names; etc).

Has anyone else with a pain pump experienced these type problems? I'd like to know if they're related to the pump or if it's just a sign I'm gettin' old (Recently turned 42)...

Can't wait to hear from y'all.... Thanks in advance for your help and letting me know of your experiences!

Old 06-16-2006, 07:24 PM   #2
(female)

cactuslily HB User
Re: Pain Pump Question