It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2006, 01:49 AM   #1
(male)

texascritter HB User
texascritter

Hi everyone!!! I'm new to this section of the board. I've found that my problems are devided into seperate areas. There's my cervical spine, Pain and depression. I've discussed some of all of it on the spine board but I'm really looking for pain management information. My problem has been going on for about 9 months with pain steadly increasing over that period. I'm schuled for a nerve root block next week which could change my pain level dramitacly. I hope so anyway. My doctor is considering a pain clinic. He also does pain management. I don't understand the difference between the two. Anyone here go thru a pain clinic. You guys discuss alot of medications I'm not familure with. I've been prescribed alot of different ones. The only one that really had any real benifit as far as helping ease the pain was oxycottin. due to some circimstances beyond my control My doctor can prescribe it but workers comp won't pay for it unless it's prescribed by my ns. Anyway I know some things that help pain or seem to get my mind off of it like watching funny shows for example but I can't do that if I go back to work. I'm just looking for some answeres and ideas from others with cronic pain as to what roads you've been down and what works generally and what has'nt worked. I thought oxycottin was at the top of the pain management class. I guess I was wrong. All I really want is to get the pain under control so I have somewhat of a life. If surgery is an option in your opinions is that better than continued nerve blocks or long term meds treatment. I don't really like bandaid approchs if I can help it. I perfer a fix, but they have steps they want you to try before they will give you a fix if other ways don't work Thanks for any a