It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2007, 12:04 PM   #1
(female)

EndoFybroGyrl HB User
BT med question

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting but I have been reading posts through this healthboard for about two years now. I just wanted to say before I state my problem that I appreciate any input and all advice. So here is my problem:
My PM doctor has me on Kadian 60mg and Morphine Immediate Release/MSIR 15mg. I have stage 4 endometriosis, fibromyalgia, and recently underwent a rectal resection that was botched. Most of the time my pain is manageable but the break through pain is getting worse and worse. The only time I have the breakthrough pain is when I use the restroom due to the botched rectal resection. The last time I brought this up to my PM doctor he just upped my Kadian from 50mg to 60mg, he said it's not the BT med dose but the LA dose. It didn't help much but did take the harsh stabbing edge off my pain. I know I will never be pain free but I have heard that your BT meds are suppose to be half the strength of the LA meds.I have an appointment on Friday with my PM doctor and wanted to know if anyone had advice on how I should go about telling me doctor that the BT meds aren't doing the trick ? If you have any other advice on what I should do please feel free to speak your mind.
Thank you for your time!

Aryiana
Stage 4 endometriosis
surgery 1 (laproscopic)-1998
surgery 2 (laproscopic)-2000
surgery 3 (laproscopic)-2002
surgery 4 ( rectal resection)- 2006
Fibromyalgia

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-13-2007, 12:22 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Fabrashamx HB User
Re: BT med question