It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2007, 03:21 PM   #1
(female)

Johnathansmomma HB User
Newbie- need to know what to expect

Hi all
I am so glad to have found this board. I am a 29 year mom of three. I had L5-S1 fusion done on June 7 2006, so just over a year ago. I was released from the surgeons office in August of 2006. Since then my Primary doc has been handling my meds, well long story short he had me on Loretab 7.5x6 per day, somax4 per day, Valuimx4 a day, and Lyrica 150mgx2 per day- within a week of starting the lyrica and valuim I was incoherent and I don't remember a huge chunk of my life, I had a miscarriage due to the lyrica. I have been begging to be sent to a PM doc for the last 6 months, my doc would not do it, well after this episode where I ended up in the er with a blood pressure of 195/105 and was totally incoherent and couldn't tell you who was my husband, or my kids names - upon becoming coherent I insisted on a referal to a PM doc, that was month ago. I have appointment on Wednesday and I have no clue what to expect- the PM has all my records as they were mailed to him by my other doc. I am scared spitless of getting sick again, and I am even more concerned that it all got out of control- I never took more than prescribed or asked for early refills, and according to blood work at the ER my med levels were inline with what I was prescribed or lower in the case of some. They say it was the lyrica mixed with valium or that I could be allergic to the class of drug that lyrica is in. I have been off ALL meds since May 23 and am in severe pain, so I know I need this appt, but am scared of what to expect. BTW the back injury that led to the surgery was 7 years ago and it took 6 years to get a surgeon to actually look for what was wrong, I had a discogram in April of 2006, I have had numerous e