It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2007, 09:31 PM   #1
(female)

kboysma HB User
Just a thought about self medicating

In an earlier post I read here, a person was put in the predicament of whether or not to tell the doctor they were out of a medication that should of lasted 30 days.

I have some thoughts about that situation and hope no one minds I post them. If they are not your thoughts I understand and please feel free to post. This is not a direct attack on this person just my personal expierences.

I am fairly new to pain management only about 6 months or so. I was having problems titrating my LA medication and it causing horrendous side effects. So I was blowing thru my SA but dead on count with my LA. I did not feel I was abusing the pills, I called everytime I thought I needed to take more SA medications and made a face to face appointment to make a more permanent change. The PA that I was dealing with under the supervision of my PM doctor, never clicked with me even from the first appointment. So I choose to not lie and say I had all my meds I told the truth and was asked to bring it all the bottles I had.

He came to the conclusion that since I had taken more SA then alloted that I was addicted and was no longer welcome to be there patient. He then took all of the medication I was on and told me good luck with detox and buh bye now. WOW what a huge predicament I was in and I was scared to death. If you look up a past post you can read the whole thing in its entirety.