It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2007, 10:47 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

PNo HB User
Question on Kadian

I am new to Kadian (20mg x1) for only about 5 days. I had been taking mostly vicodin (5) a day and managing activity. More recently I had to start adding more vicodin and percosettes. I suffer from cervical spine problems, couple surgeries and still high pain levels. I pretty much stay around 5-6 all the time, even medicated, with lots of rollercoaster peaks and valleys. Never dropping below pain level 4 and sometimes going up to 8. I can't take some other the other things like Neurontin/Lyrica for support because of side effects. I also have a thyroid problem (Hashi's) and take 2 types of thyroid meds. I think this makes me sensitive to some meds.

Pain doc ordered Kadian to help support my primary meds, but I am experiencing some real side effects and was hoping for advice before I call him.

Since I started Kadian I have been extremely sleepy and dopey, I am sleeping at least 3 hours during the day. When I take the vicodins on schedule like the dr. told me to, I am experiencing this high feeling, but not enough pain relief. I hate the feeling so much I removed one of the vicodins from my schedule, but that isn't helping me.

I take the Kadian at night and it is a little easier to get out of bed in the morning but I don't like feeling this buzz, I never had that on the vicodins, will this wear off and how long does it take? Will the sleepiness wear off too? I also have a droopey eye that's new. I would rather hurt than be so out of it.

Any advice for me? I think I am sensitive to this medicine, not sure whether to wait it out or get off it immediately.

Last edited by PNo; 09-23-2007 at 10:48 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-24-2007, 07:59 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

skych HB Userskych HB User