It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2007, 04:20 PM   #1
(male)

love life HB User
prialt experiance

I have been using an ip pump for 18 months. The pain Dr. has tried morpine (up to 7.5) and hydromorphone up to 7.5 but I feel nothing. The temporary pump gave me 60% releif but the implanted has done nothing. Now my pm Dr has refered me to a another partner that wants to try prialt. It is expensive, $3000 a refill and the warnings I find on the web regarding the drug seem scary. He says he will monitor me closely but wonder has anyone else had any exp. with the drug. I have had two fusions and a lamenectomy but never have had less pain after any surgery. I also take oxycontin 20 twice a day for four years. Could a higher dose of this drug be a better choice?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-10-2007, 05:50 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

butrfligirl28 HB Userbutrfligirl28 HB User
Re: prialt experiance

I wonder if the pump is inserted properly. The catheter can move out of the epidural space and I think it would be wise to have that evaluated. It doesn'y make sense that the trial would bring relief, but this doesn't?? I would talk to my doctor about this. If the cath is not where it needs to be, it doesn't matte what they fill the pump with! Good luck and keep us posted!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-10-2007, 08:23 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Shoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB User