It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2008, 10:33 AM   #1
(female)

mischabelle HB User
Oxycontin SR 40mg question

Hi,
I am new to Oxycontin. I used to be prescribed 30mg of roxicet but they no longer help. Thus, my dr. gave me a prescription of oxycontin 40 since I was taking the 30mg roxicet at least 4 times a day. Anyways, I am worried about the 40mg being too strong. I know it is a sustained release tablet. Is there any way that I can cut it in half or quarters without it being dangerous (such as the medicine hitting my system all at once). I heard somewhere that as long as you don't crush it and just cut it in half, it might be ok. Is this true? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

The following user gives a hug of support to mischabelle:
pagosverse (08-27-2011)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-01-2008, 12:18 PM   #2
(male)

mark76 HB User
Re: Oxycontin SR 40mg question

How often is your oxycontin being dosed? I assume 3 times a day? If you were previously taking 30 mg of immediate release oxycodone, why would you be concerned that 40 mg of extended release would be too much?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-01-2008, 12:38 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

trowftd3 HB User

Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the 40 mg SR(or ER) maintains 20mg of oxycodone in your system(bpl)...If you've been taking 30mg 4 times a day the Oxycontin would be less.

And...no, you can't cut Oxycontin in half. This disables the time release mechanism along with crushing. Good luck and welcome to the board.
Keep posting and let us know your pain story. ~Mush

Old 06-01-2008, 01:33 PM   #4
(male)

mark76 HB User