It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2009, 02:21 PM   #1
(female)

blackRaven HB User
New PM - No Meds Prescribed - Just injections

Hi I also had my first appt with my PM doctor and he did not give me any pain meds he said he wants to try injections first. I have a problem in lumbar L-4 and L-5 I and I also have fibro,lupus,and OA in my lower back and left hip and I am in so much pain and my family doctor already gave me my pain meds(oxycontin) before my appt and I took my last one before my appt thinking he was gonna help me.So now I have to go have a injection in my lumbar spine of cordasone so I'm hoping this works but if does'nt what am I supposed to do then?any suggestions?:I am having a MRI done on my back.

BlackRaven

Last edited by Mod08; 01-23-2009 at 09:39 PM.

Old 01-22-2009, 07:22 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

slipperyslope HB User

Raven you needed to ask your Dr for some pain meds and explain the situation to him. He can't read your mind and probably didn't know you were out of meds. he assumed you had them from your GP. You should have asked him for some, as now you have to suffer with W/D'S and pain. Why don't you call him tomorrow and explain the situation to him, but this really should have been done at the time of your apt today. I hope it works for you. If not you will have to call your GP and explain the situation and ask for help. It never hurts to ask, if your new PM Dr does not beleive in narcotics you will find that out when you call and if worst case scenario maybe he will allow you to taper off them or ask your GP to allow you another refill to taper with until you can get your issues resolved and have another apt with your PM Dr and ask him at the next apt.

SS

Last edited by Mod08; 01-23-2009 at 09:39 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-23-2009, 04:08 AM   #3
(female)