It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2010, 08:51 PM   #1
(male)

rp71 HB User
From Oxycodone 15 to MS IR 15

Hey guys and gals,
I just joined and this is my first post so bare with me please.

I'm a vet that got blown up in the middle east. I've been taking Oxycontin 60 3x a day and I was taking oxycodone 15 7x a day.

Today I went to my PM doc and was told that they are no longer making oxy IR 15s, so he switched me to MS IR 15mg.

Now Morphine doesn't do much for me, in the hospital after a while they switched me to Demerol as a result. I had 3 blocks plus 100mg of demorol every 3 hours.

I've been reading a bit about MSIR and I'm learning that MSIR is not as strong as the oxy 15mg IR.

If this doens't work what is a good replacement.

Thanks for any info in advance.

Old 11-12-2010, 02:52 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

jonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB Userjonnstar HB User
Re: From Oxycodone 15 to MS IR 15

Get the oxycodone in another strength and make it up or down to 15mg (for example one and a half of the 10mg pills or half a 30mg pill)

Some people adsorb morphine quite badly, so it doesnt work well for them by mouth, you might be one of them. If you know Oxy works, then I'd stick with it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-12-2010, 07:03 AM   #3
(male)

rp71 HB User

I can't use oxycondone any more. They no longer make it. its coming off the market.

You're right about morphine. A day ago I couldn't breath and had very shallow breathing so I'm not taking it anymore either. Right now I'm taking more of the oxycontin to make up for it.

Old 11-12-2010, 12:21 PM   #4
Veteran
(female)

kelsey1 HB Userkelsey1 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by rp71 View Post