It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2011, 01:57 AM   #1
Veteran
(male)

Bilbo HB User
Freaking out over 3 yr ssdi review!

Its been well over 3 years since I started receiving SSDI. My case originally, like many, went all the way to the Admin Law Judge phase. I had the help of a lawyer as part of my benefits program from the company I used to work with. That benefit is no longer available. About 6 months ago I received a several page form to fill out detailing my current status. My situation, while common, has me very very worried. I just receive a brief letter from the State of California stating that my SSDI was under further review and that I had to list Dr's and treatments I have received. That is where the problem is. More on this later. Why the State of California. I am a college graduate and have read this thing several times. I don't get the connection. Are the sub contracting out work to the States?

My disability stems from a lifetime of back injuries that led to a 2 level cervical fusion and a 3 level lumbar fusion. It has been a few year since I have seen my neurosurgeon but he said my entire back was riddled with DDD and Spinal Stenosis and that at some point a thoracic fusion would be needed. Right now I am able to remedy the pain with meds but there is no way I could work. I can't stand for more than 20 minutes and can't sit for more than 30. I spend most of my time in bed reading and watching TV. I can't drive most days and because of the ultra sedentary lifestyle I have gained 50lbs.