HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Pain Management (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/pain-management/)
-   -   hydrocodone no longer working well, whats the next step? (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/pain-management/868101-hydrocodone-no-longer-working-well-whats-next-step.html)

firefli 09-08-2011 02:21 PM

hydrocodone no longer working well, whats the next step?

Im 33 with severe psoriatic arthritis. Im taking enbrel once a week and 15 mg of hydrocodone. Its not working very well anymore and i was swiched to 5mg of oxycodone. The oxy did not work so dr. said to try 10mg of the oxycodone and i got minimum relief. The hydrocodone works much better then the oxy. I just dont understand why? I've been trying to reach my dr. for 5 days now with no call back. When i do get in touch with him what can i suggest to help me get the most pain relief that lasts longer? Im new to this disease and i have to work beings im a single mom. The hydro worked great for 6 months but now i just dont know what to do. Is there anyone whos had this experience or anyone that can suggest other pain management options?

Whoopee 09-09-2011 10:45 AM

Re: hydrocodone no longer working well, whats the next step?

Yep, that's basically called "tolerance" and it happens to almost anyone taking a narcotic. What's also common is the hydro working for you and oxy working for me. Some of this stuff is hit or miss and requires constant communication with your doctor. It sounds like you may need to stay on the hydro and just up the dosage until something else is figured out. Good Luck!

firefli 09-09-2011 09:50 PM