It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2011, 04:09 AM   #1
(male)

A3223 HB User
Crushing endocet tablets, is it safe?

I don't swallow pills so I crushed my endocet, which I assume is basically percocet tablet earlier with applesauce and it seemed to work great, that was about 10 hours ago but for the last few hours I have felt very sick and weird. Chest pain and nausea as well as numbness. I read after that you shouldn't crush these but mine was the kind that was intended to be taken every 4 hours as needed, does the fact that I took it 10 hours ago mean that it won't hurt me at this point, this is my first time taking this drug and I wasn't really given a lot of information about it from the doctor.

Old 10-26-2011, 12:27 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

backhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB User
Re: Crushing endocet tablets, is it safe?

The only way to know that, is to read the prescribing information about the medication. Usually it will say, do not crush, chew, etc....generally speaking, if the tablet has a score mark on it, it can be crushed. If there is no score mark, then it should not be crushed.
If I were you, I would be calling my pharmacist and talking to them to find out for sure whether or not this particular medication can be crushed before taking it.
Back

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-28-2011, 01:31 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

babs17 HB Userbabs17 HB User

I thought that the score on the pill meant that each side of the pill has an exact half-amount of medication in it. Therefore, you can divide it. However, I do not believe it is meant to be crushed. But, if you do find out from the Pharmacist, please let us know

C4-C7 Herniations
T5-T10 Herniations