It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2012, 10:55 AM   #1
(male)

Daffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB UserDaffydolphin HB User
Question New to Formal Pain Mgmt - Pill Counts

While having treated this for years, I am new to formal pain management clinics. No doctors or clinics locally want to prescribe controlled narcotics anymore for longterm cronic pain. So I am driving an hour each way to a Pain Management Clinic. First appointment was straight forward. Doctor looked at my records, x-rays, & MRI's, took his own x-rays. All that's for another posting.

The question for this thread is, I left with an Rx for 120 pills for 30 days. When I have my 2nd appt and show up with say 10 pills left in the bottle, can I expect him to issue the new Rx for 120, or just 110. New 110 pills plus my holdover 10 equalling my 120 pills for the next 30 days.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-30-2012, 01:59 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

backhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB User
Re: New to Formal Pain Mgmt - Pill Counts

It depends on the doctor's practice and on how the instructions are given for taking the medication. If the prescriber's instructions say , for example- Take one tablet every 6 hours, then that is how you should be taking the medication. No more and no less than the way you are directed to take the medication.