It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2012, 09:21 PM   #1
(female)

DeformedBeauty HB User
Question Problems with new Watson brand Fentanyl patch

Hello all,
This is my first time posting. I have read a lot of posts looking for information on different brands of fentanyl patches. I started using the Mylan patches and found them very helpful once the doctor gave me the right dose. I went to another pharmacy this month because with my insurance they were free. This time I was given the Watson brand. They do not seem to be working at all! I was wondering if anyone had an explanation as to why I am having so much trouble with the new patches. It doesn't make sense to me because they both contain the same medicine. The only difference is that the Watson brand has extra ingredients in it. :I look forward to your replies.

Old 10-07-2012, 11:07 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

tortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB Usertortoisegirl HB User
Re: Problems with new Watson brand Fentanyl patch

Different generics can have a variance in the active ingredient by 20%. So, some folks will be over or under dosed when switching. Some are more sensitive to these small changes. Another possibility is that because the Watson are so large, it is not sticking correctly...if even one little part is unstuck, the air that gets under it will dry out the med at more than that little spot. Quite easy to be getting much less med.

If you don't already, I'd use a cover on these, such as Tegaderm. These are safe per the prescribing info. What do you mean the Watson has "extra ingredients"?