It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Panic Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2007, 04:42 PM   #1
(male)

skygazer629 HB User
Panic Medication Advice - Help me. What should i take? I take Xanax XR 2MG and more..

Hi, This is my first time posting on this board. I wondered if anyone could give me advice on what really works for them for anxiety that's taking or taken stuff similar to me.

Im 25 and currently take Xanax XR 2MG in the morning. I've done that for about a year. It drops my level of anxiety to the point Im not freaking out the entire day. I'm usually less stressed evening hours, so the 6-8 hours of effectiveness i seem to get from it, seem to be enough most of time.

I also take short acting .5mg tablets. Oddly sometimes I'll just take .25mg or .5mg of those and that feels like it has such a more pronounced effect than the XR 2 MG, and calms me down enough that I can function, go outside, and do stressful things. Some days i don't take any short acting tablets, some days i'll take up to 2. I also take Toprol ER 25mg.

This combination of drugs is the only thing that's ever really helped me. I've gone to counselling for many months, which was barely if helpful at all. I've taken SSRIs in the past, like paxil for a year, and lexapro for a year. Paxil might have helped me a tiny bit (plus a weight gain of 80 pounds which took me forever to lose). Lexapro felt like it did nothing. I've also taken Welbutrin. That's made me feel even worse.

Lately I went to a doctor, not a psychiatrist, to get my toprol refilled and she went off on me on how I take way too much Xanax and its not healthy and that I should start taking Zoloft and wrote me a prescription for that. I don't think I'm going to, considering ive had nothing but bad side effects and virtually no help from previous SSRIs in the past. Plus she's not a psychiatrist.