It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Panic Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2011, 10:17 PM   #1
(male)

makodav HB User
Afraid to go to the Doctor, but need to!

Fortunately I do have a very good Doctor who is kind and caring. I have an appointment with him for a physical on April 18'th. For years I have been dealing with panic and anxiety with every symptom possible. I have been working my current job for 7 months and have not missed a day by just pure willpower. I have had alot of lightheadness, tightness and chest pain, shortness of breath, these are the symptoms that scare me the most. I went through a divorce almost 3 years ago and was unemployed on and off for the pst 3 years. I force myself to go to work every day and I work a demanding physical job. Sunday morning I woke up with a pain below my heart on the left side and have been panicking unbelievably since. The pain comes and goes and on a scale of 1-10 I would give it 2 at most. I feel I need to see a Doctor now but I am so petrified that I can't do it! I drove home from work tonight and my body was out of control and I had one of the worst panic attacks I ever had, I almost pulled over to just get out and walk a little bit, but I rolled down the window and the panic eased some. I currently have no one in my life but I feel I need someone with me to go to the Doctor. Just the thought of it causes wild panic. I even had a dentist appointment a couple months ago and my panic ran wild even though I used to do fine at the dentist. I take 3 milligrams of Klonopin a day and have been on it for 20 years. I just need advice as to how to get the courage and strenght to go to the Doctor. When I came home from work I had a couple beers and that calmed me down. Now I am just trying to force myself to seek the strength to see a Doctor but I can't do it. Any advice or input is greatly appreciated.