It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Paralysis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2011, 07:52 PM   #1
(male)

Varine HB User
Questions About Locked-in Syndrome

I'm a student and working on a project for my program design class, and I read a newspaper article a bit ago about someone with Locked-in Syndrome and I have a few questions and don't know where to go to get them answered... so I'm trying here!

So the articles I read said that whoever it was could only communicate via blinking. I'm just wondering if that form of speech is common in paralysis patients, or something similar (like Stephen Hawking has some control of hands I guess). I watched The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, and they had a way of going through the alphabet until he blinked to spell out words. Is that the typical way of going about it, or are there faster methods?

And also, if paralysis affects the operations of the brain, specifically in the frontal lobe?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-19-2011, 09:57 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

jennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB User
Re: Questions About Locked-in Syndrome

Locked-in syndrome usually follows a stroke(although severe Guillain-Barre can do it too). It damages or destroys the ability of the person to move from the mid-face area on down. They also cannot move their eyes to the left and right. They can't speak or swallow, breathe or move their limbs. However, the brain functions and consciousness remains intact. They sleep and wake like everyone else and can only communicate through eye movements.