It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parenting Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2004, 01:42 PM   #1

Rob428 HB User
Teen needs advice...

Im a 19 y/o college sophomore.
My mom was/is rather over-protective and I have always been very sheltered.
I have never worked, cooked, done laundry... nothing, she even takes care of all my college schedules/classes. We've been through a lot, gone to counselers.... fact is she is not willing to change, and that is in the past now. She accepts the fact that I am 19 and can legally have more freedom, even though she frowns upon the idea of me working or anything of that nature.
All of my friends have moved out and are living on their own. I still know a few people who are still in high school, they are all working and traveling all across the country visiting colleges and participating in activities... what do i do all day? Go to school, come home & study, then watch television the rest of the day.... literally the same life I was living when I was 12.
I know my mothers idea was for me to live at home until I graduated college, never working or having any worries, just school. Having no responsabilities is awesome, but I can't help but think that it is hurting me in the long run. Not to mention the fact that it is a major confidence-killer when the majority of my peers are living on their own and I have to depend on my mother for everything.
I am young and I don't claim to have all the knowledge in the world, but I don't like constantly being treated like a young child by her, I find it very disrespectful. I would love to get a job, move out and do things for myself... but honestly the idea of leaving this comfort-zone she has created for me is very scary. This is all I have known all my life, responsabilities are a completely foreign idea to me, and it's so hard to break these ideas.