It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parenting Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2006, 11:31 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Frynd1 HB User
I'm scared for my future

I'm a 21-year-old single mother looking for direction. Some of you may already be familiar with my situation considering I'm far from new to these boards. I'm yet to gather the resources and support that I need though. To make a long story short, this is the deal. I am young and single with no degree or job. I have a high school diploma and little work experience. My son's father doesn't care about us and lives across the country. I had to hire a lawyer just to enforce the child support owed to me and I'm only getting $280 a month at that. My parents aren't that supportive of me either. They help me out somewhat (financially) and that's about it. If I ever need a break to recharge or get work done, they bail out on me. That's partially the reason why I don't have a job and am not in school. My parents won't even watch my son 15 minutes a day for me to take a shower. I have no help in terms of watching my son. I'm currently living with my parents and although I'm grateful that I'm not homeless, I can't stand living here. I don't feel I'm the best mom I can be when I'm living (and fighting) with my own two parents. I've began to notice that most single mothers my age don't take care of their children. They either pawn their child off to whoever will watch them or drink and smoke in front of the kid. That isn't me...I'm actually a good parent...and I am in desperate need of help. I have visited my local job and family service center (I live in Ohio bty) and was put on CareSource. That was about all they said they could do for me. I applied to a couple different H.U.D housing apartments, but the waiting list for those are nearly a year long. I did call a rep for section 8 and they said they w