It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parenting Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2006, 03:07 PM   #1
(female)

AVC HB User
Advice please - child's father is back

Hello all. I hope this is the right place to post.

I'm a single mum to a little girl. She's five and a half, and has never met her dad. He was someone I knew at university. We were only together for a very short time, but I got pregnant. I graduated and moved back home with my mum, but he said he'd keep in touch. Anyway, he didn't, and apart from a brief phone call when my daughter was 6 weeks old, I heard nothing from him. I told my daughter, who asked me why she didn't have a daddy, that she had one, but he lived a long way and had decided he wouldn't be very good at being a daddy. She seemed happy enough with that. Anyway, last week I was contacted by a mediation company who told me he wanted to "build a relationship" with his daughter. So I arranged to meet him for mediation. But then tonight, he phoned me out of the blue. Apparently he's always wanted to be involved in her life, but lost my address. (Hmm, not convinced that he couldn't have found me if he'd tried hard enough...) Anyway, we managed to talk sensibly and although I'm having trouble forgiving him, I've decided to let him meet her...