It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parenting Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2007, 11:15 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

galinaqt HB User
how to teach reading?

My 4 year old dd started interested in letters and numbers and she even knew most of it. I am thinking of teaching her reading. English is my second language, and I've learned it when I can understand that depending on cituation different letter pronounced differently. In my native language you pronounce all letters in the word.
I wonder how can I teach her reading? Is it any good resources.
My mil thinks that she could be be bored if she knows too much before school. I don't think so, I much rather her be bored than be behind. Even when I was a student, teacher gave more advanced students harder assignments. I don't believe it could be a problem.
I saw different tutoring centers but they cost a lot and it hard to find time. She is learning stuff at daycare, but I wish I can do more.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-15-2007, 09:04 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Sherri-Lynne HB User
Re: how to teach reading?

I asked the same thing a while ago. The advice I got was read her lots of nursery rhymes. It helps witha lot of things. Also read to her and let her make up her own stories with a book. You can do things at home without having to pay for a tutor. I went to a dollar store and bought these foam letters they also have numbers. I lay them out on the ground and we say the alphabet as we point to each letter. My DD looks at words ina book right now and wrties them on a peice of paper. This is all on her own. She also can write her name. Just start with teaching the letters of the alphabet anf then you can move on to three letter words.
eg. cat, hat, mat, rat. Top, mop, hop. Things like that.