It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parenting Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2007, 04:14 PM   #1
(female)

loricc68 HB User
Arguments between 13 yr old son & husband

Hi, I am new to this message board and am getting desperate for advice. My 13 year old son is a good student, in advanced classes. He has enjoyed dance for the past 5 years. He does hip hop, tap & jazz. This has been a problem between he and my husband. He has tried several sports in the past, but they just aren't for him. He spends most of his time outside of school & dance classes on the computer instant messaging friends and doing different art projects. His dad occasionally brags about how well he dances, but he and my husband just don't get along. I almost think they love each other, but don't like each other. It puts me in a really bad position. My son is disrespectful to us at times. He doesn't always say hi to his dad when he gets home from work or he doesn't tell his dad bye when he is going somewhere. I know this sounds petty, but it does hurt my husband's feelings then he gets upset. My son also gives us these looks like we are stupid when we ask him questions or try to talk to him. I know he is a teenager, but how can I get him to respect us more? He also never takes the initiative to help out with anything around the house. I have tried giving him a to do list, asking him, yelling at him, and ignoring him. Please give me some advice. Thank you!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-12-2007, 08:16 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

PinkPiglet HB User
Re: Arguments between 13 yr old son & husband

I'm sorry but I had to laugh when you said your husband gets upset if your son doesn't say hello or goodbye to him. If he gets upset about that now just wait till your son is 15 rather than just 13.