It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parkinson's Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2010, 01:11 AM   #1
(male)

jbatyko33 HB User
distraught son

This is my first time writing about my fathers fight with parkinsons disease. I am a 16 year old student in high school, who wishes he can see happiness in his dad. I have never seen my dad without pd, since he has had it since I was born. His health has been failing enormously lately: difficulty to walk, cannot change clothes by himself, and no ability to drive or perform many activities. Pd problems such as drooling, lack of expression, depression, freezing, and tremor have also plagued his 50 year old body. To make matters worse, his wife(my mother) seperated from him 6 years ago. Without a spouse to lean on, I try to fill in that role. I help him change in the morning, cook meals for him after school, and help him get in bed. When I am away at school or at basketball practice, he suffers with great depression, due to his declining health and my mother leaving him. He has called 911 due to suicide thoughts, and I am afraid he will eventually go thorough with it one time. I pray for a miracle to God almost every night, but none come. I just wish he can get through this rough time of hardship and find a wife or anybody that can brighten up his day or help him when he needs it, because it is basically impossible for a teen to take a complete role of caretaker. My dad is a sweet and kind man who I love to death, but I am afraid in a few years parkinsons disease will take over all his will to live. Please pray for my dad and thank you for reading.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-11-2010, 05:07 PM   #2
(female)

cejayb HB Usercejayb HB Usercejayb HB Usercejayb HB Usercejayb HB Usercejayb HB User
Re: distraught son