It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parkinson's Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2012, 07:48 AM   #1
(female)

celentanoad HB User
Helping someone with Parkinson's

I am a college student, and I'm in a program to work with older people. The woman I am working with has Parkinson's, and I don't know too much about the disease. She is confined to a motorized scooter, and has a hard time using her hands. She also has a hard time speaking.
She has some activities that her doctor has her do, like word recall stuff. I was wondering if there are some other things that we could do, that would not be too strenuous for her. Since she has a hard time speaking, would it be hard for her to hold a conversation? The speech thing is throwing me off, like I'm not sure if its actually hard for her to speak, or if its hard for her to think of the things she wants to say. I don't want to be sitting in silence the whole time, or just be talking away at her, but I also don't want to push her if its too much.
Any suggestions or ideas would be helpful, thanks

Old 10-03-2012, 03:25 PM   #2
(female)

anayxx HB User
Re: Helping someone with Parkinson's