It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Personality Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2009, 12:34 PM   #1
(male)

sydthekid HB User
Who am I? anyone feel like this?

Hey,

Since I was about 15/16ish I've struggled to have a single identity. It's like I don't know who I am or who I want to be.

I tend to go through phases where I feel certain that this is who I am but then I always end up hating myself and completely changing. It feels like I'm acting out different character roles but never being myself. One day I'm a great artist, the next day an entrepreneur, another day a soldier, a cowboy, a skater, beatnik, a politician......the list goes on but really I'm none of these things.

There is one common theme, I live life like in a film. I envy my friends who are who they are and are happy. I've had many personalities and identities but it's left me feeling like I'm more of a nobody then a somebody.

I've become more and more depressed as I've got older and I desperately want to find myself. Does anyone else have this or know what it is?

Thank you

Old 02-01-2009, 01:23 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

writeleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB User
Re: Who am I? anyone feel like this?

Could it be that you are still a young person, looking for inspiration and a "place" for yourself. You sound like a creative person, with no set path...yet.

I can relate to you, and my journey started out feeling like yours (I think). At this point, I am almost 50 years old, and have just recently found my place. If I could have done it all again, the only thing I would change would be letting my fears run the show.