It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Personality Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2011, 11:48 AM   #1
(female)

Quiteterrified HB User
Does BPD really have to be a life sentence?

Hi,
I am a 28yr old, single mum to two adorable kids. (age 4 and 6) I was neglected as a child and 3 days ago i recieved the diagnosis that i have BPD and now i'm terrified. 99% of the information i have read seems to condemn BPD sufferers, especially in the way of being a parent. @ the minute it very much wish i'd never been diagnosed. I have, over the years, managed to control my outbursts when around other people, including my children although i could never manage it with partners. I tell my kids every day that i love them, but the statics scare me and due to the nature of the disorder, i am now questioning whether i am deluding myself in regards to my kids so far. I am currently studying to become a psychtherapist myself and dont know if this will impede my success. I have so many questions, no answers and no one i trust enough to confide in. Is there anyone out there that has some positive advice or information?? Please!

Old 09-23-2011, 02:48 PM   #2
(female)

pb252 HB User
Re: Does BPD really have to be a life sentence?

I don't believe it is a life sentence. Do you take any medications to help with moods and such? If not you should try. I have found that they really help me. I have a 5 month old and I love her more than anything. I believe I am already a great mother.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-23-2011, 05:18 PM   #3
Inactive
(female)

jennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB User