It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pituitary Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2010, 05:18 PM   #1
(male)

Alex1989 HB User
CSF leak caused by tumour shrinking

Hi all,

I was diagnosed with a pituitary tumor in March of this year, a macroprolactinoma.

Long story short it was a shock but a relief to find out i had a condition as i had been complaining to doctors and the like for several years about vision problems, until i could barely even see (was so gradual loss of sight that i just accepted it due to being given the all clear so many times).

My tumor was discovered when i had an MRI scan. All hell broke loose at that point because of the sheer size of it (tennis ball, i was told) and i was transferred to hospital and had a biopsy to determine what the tumor was exactly.

When the tests came back and the doctors knew what it was, supposedly the surgeon yelled "YESS!!" and did a little leap for joy when he found out he didnt have to perform surgery (the tumor had wrapped itself around the main nerve to my brain and various optic nerves, hence my severe eyesight loss, and it would have been very difficult to operate on), as it could be treated with medication (parents said he yelled haha).

During the last 6-7 months, i have seen a huge increase in my eyesight and particularly my peripheral vision, as it was non-exsistent prior to starting medication. I am so happy about this, although i still dont have a left field of vision yet as my left eye was alot worse than my right in terms of visual problems. My prolactin levels when i first entered hospital were 742,000, and my testosterone levels were untraceable. 2 months ago my prolactin had dropped to 64,000 when i had a blood test.