It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Polio Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2007, 11:26 AM   #1
(female)

roachbug HB User
My mother turned 64 and is having problems with polio

This is my first time logging in. I did not have polio but my mother did. She just turned 64 and has started having all sorts of problems. I believe she was around 5 when she got polio. The facts I've been told are that she was in an iron lung for a while, how long I'm not sure. I also know she had to wear leg braces for a while. Here are the symptoms she is having: memory loss, extreme pain in lower legs and feet (sometimes tingly and numb), extreme pain in her arms and hands (also sometimes tingly and numb); extreme fatigue (wants to sleep all the time). We have been to numerous doctors and has had all kinds of tests. She has had several small strokes but Doc says not strong enough for the memory loss she has. She has also be diagnosed with Neuropathy. Doc cannot come up with the cause for Neuropathy. So far no medicine is helping. Her doctor bills are out the roof. Does this sound like PPS to any of you out there. I just read this morning about PPS. I had never heard of it before. Would appreciate any responses. Thanks.

Old 04-11-2007, 09:33 AM   #2
(female)

karend45 HB User
Re: My mother turned 64 and is having problems with polio

My mother has PPS. She is 67. Really started seeing the signs about 15 years ago, but only in the last couple of years has it really been pretty extreme. She is now stooped over & can only use a cane at home, so she mostly uses a walker w/ wheels & uses her electric wheelchair at home. She believes the thing that has helped keep her going is calcium. Even though she is now diagnosed osteo & taking Fosamax, she really believes that extra calcium keeps her going. She does have to take Ibuprofen daily & w/o it she could not get out of the house.