It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Polio Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2007, 08:07 AM   #1
(female)

tigrjo HB User
Post-polio and knee replacement

Hi everyone, I am new to this message board and I'm excited to have the opportunity to talk with other polio survivors. I have a question. Is there anyone who has post-polio and a knee replacement? I had one in Feb. in the leg most affected by polio and am still having difficulty walking. Therapy and a brace have been ordered and I'm hopeful that in time I will walk without a walker. Before surgery I locked my knee and used my hip to walk but now that is impossible with the new knee. No one told me that my muscles would be too weak to keep me upright with my new knee. I would appreciate any advise or information with this situation.

Old 06-10-2007, 09:28 AM   #2
(female)

Janet W. HB User
Re: Post-polio and knee replacement

Hi - I have PPS but have not had knee surgery. My knee locks quite a bit but not everyday and the Physiatrist said as long as it was not in pain no surgery... But I do have a friend that just had hip surgery and has PPS- she is slow at healing like many of us PPSers - So take baby steps and just know that it takes a long time to heal. The brace should help especially when the muscles are weak.. I have an left AFO and now using crutches.

I was just recently dx'd with PPS(but I kind of new something was happening for awhile) - I have atrophy of the left quad and that is the leg I had the Polio in.

Hang in there, things will get better- do you have a good Polio doctor? They are so hard to find.

Hugs to you Janet (Polio at age 4)

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-10-2007, 06:57 PM   #3
(female)

Jan60 HB User

Hi,