It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2006, 06:37 PM   #1
(female)

goingcrazy724 HB User
Any parents of young children with pcos here?

Hi all...I am a real newbie to this site. I am hoping someone can help me...I am tearing my hair out.
A little history:
My daughter was a VERY difficult child from birth. I had the gestational diabetes, my father has diabetes and has had it for over 30 years. My sister also had ovarian cancer and had a complete historectamy.
At birth till about 3 years old my daughter would not sleep...no way. If she did she would wake up screaming her head off as loud as she could. She was always a very emotional child, and she is now 10...moody as can be, if she does not get her own way the whole house suffers. If we try to disicpline, she is exploseive. I have checked ADD and ADHD and all the rest with no luck. She is fine at school, so the probablility of those is minimal. Her doctor and her teacher agreed she did not have it.
So what is her problem? I was talking with a woman in grocery store today, and her daughter was exactly the same way at a young age, and was diagnosed with PCOS in her teens.
Another contributing factor I have read in my google searches is that PCOS may come from the fathers side of the family and early balding was a symptom in the father, which her father does have.
My daughter has not started menstrating yet, but it looks like it may be soon. She does get dandruff (another symptom?), but not until recently. She is getting pretty chunky around the middle.
Soooo....with the hormonal mood swings since birth, the gestational diabetes, the dandruff, the chunkiness, the fathers balding, my history of diabetes, my sisters cervical cancer, the spoilt rotten mood swings,...can this all add up to early signal signs of PCOS?