It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2003, 01:15 PM   #1

inyo HB User
Question ptsd?

hello everyone, this is my first time on this board.

among my many other medical conditions, i think i have ptsd, even though i havent been officially dx.

ive had chronic pain for about 8yrs, and it has really taken my down to places i thought i would never be/go. its basically taken my life away from me...i know i should (and i am) grateful for what i do have. but i was so active before i got thoracic outlet syndrome, and had unsuccessful surgery...i was so active.

i was in the army...i was a police ofc/detective, played sports w/my son, our family used to go out regularly to do outdoor activities. then all that stopped.
ive tried everything i know to try and "beat" this, but i just cant, nor can i accept it (though i truly embrace zen buddhist "philosophy").

among the many narcotics and sedatives i take, i just recently started taking "risperdal"...ive read that it is used for mood disorders and ptsd.

i just feel like such a burden on my family and societly for that matter...ive always worked in service-oriented jobs...now what can i provide?

im always thinking about my "situation", and "will i be able to continue to provide for my family"? (im on fed work/comp and ssdi), or will someday, the bottom just drop out of the barrell? i know things like these happen.
we have a modest middle class home...that we have worked hard for, and this is an approved job related condition(s)...TOS & DEPRESSION.
yet it seems as though they do everything in their power to try and get your claim dis-approved, then what happens to you and your family? do they care?...dont they realize that i (anyone that i know), would much rather be working and living a "normal" life compared to what i/we go through.