It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2004, 10:55 AM   #1

snslilly HB User
New to thread!

Hi, everyone. I'm new to this thread. I was diagnosed with PTSD yesterday. I've had it for several years. It all started when I was raped at age 21 (now 30), then I spent 5 years in an abusive marriage (physically and mentally) , my only brother past away 5 years ago at age 20 from injuries received in a car wreck , at the age of 28 I had to have a hysterectomy which I didn't want because I wanted more children but I needed and had several complications including my bladder shutting down, then 4 weeks later, I was back in the hospital with a hernia that required major surgery. I was diagnosed with fibromyalsia 2 years ago and I am now having to use a wheelchair to get around a lot of the time. Boy is my life a mess. I have found a wonderful therapist but I don't know if I can relive everything again. I still have flashbacks of the rape, my ex-husband, and my brothers wreck. Do the flashbacks ever go away?

-Stephanie

Old 08-04-2004, 09:39 AM   #2

Tanki HB User
Re: New to thread!

Stephanie,

The flashbacks will go away in time. Flashbacks believe it or not is a part of healing. We go through them when we are ready to deal with it , same with memories. You just have to take it a step at a time.

After 8 years of therapy, and still seeing the same psychiatrist now and I'm 24 (started to see her at age 16) I learned to cope, learned how to let myself heal, letting go of the past and regretting that I was raped, that I was abused mentally, physically, emotionally, verbally and sexually by my ex at 16, after that ended in 1996 I was assaulted, harrassed and threatened by 8 other guys from the years of 1996-2001.