It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2005, 05:17 PM   #1
(female)

alsaser HB User
PTSD & car accidents

I have been in numerous car accidents, mostly when I was not the driver, and the ones where I drove, I wasnt at fault. For example my car got totaled once and once I wasnt driving and my older sister ended up in the hospital...very scary. Well, some people complain I'm a horrible backseat driver, if they are driving too fast and I feel, unsafely, I sometimes scream...panic and tell them to slow down, and basically freak out.
My younger sis and dad have hardly been in any accidents, but I have and I cant help it. My dad was driving my sis and I on Chrsitmas eve and he would switch lanes real fast and car was behind us real fast and I screamed "we're gonna get hit" (I braced myself for the impact) but we didnt and my dad just laughed that the guy sped up on purpose to scare us. PLus he drove real fast at a red light like he was gonna hit the car in front of us and my sis and I were screaming.
My younger sis drives kind of crazy I feel, she's 24, and she cant stand me driving with her cause I freak out. I even do the break thing with my foot unintentionally, were I put my foot on the break thats not there, I'm not driving so I have no break. If I drive I'm fine.
I try to explain to ppl I have been in numerous accidents and cant help it. Is this a form of PPSD? What do I tell people? I cant help it...I get scared, its just an automatic reaction.
Btw, I'm fine when I driving with good, safe, mature drivers.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-16-2006, 03:09 PM   #2
(female)

magickzzl HB User
Re: PTSD & car accidents