It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2008, 11:30 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

maybecrazy HB User
is there a link to ocd from ptsd?

Hi Everyone,

I wondered if anyone else has developed checking habits after getting ptsd? One of my major issues (still is) after getting attacked was safety and i check my car doors and the doors and windows of my flat every time i go in or out - sometimes more than once or twice (often 3 or 4 times)- especially with my car - i can check the doors and that the handbrake is on and the lights are out 3 or 4 times this seems to increase when i am heading for depression or after a flashback or incident that reminds me of what happened at work - it's like i dn't trust what ive seen - (i didnt trust myself for a long time because i thought i should have seen what was coming) - does anyone else have this? I don't even know if this would be classed as OCD or just anxiety - if this has happened to you how do you manage it?

MBC

Old 09-11-2008, 01:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

negot HB Usernegot HB User
Re: is there a link to ocd from ptsd?

I think it sounds normal to check all those things after being attacked. Of course you are worried about your safety now. Please don't blame yourself, most of the times we don't see something like that coming. I hope you reported the perpetrator to the police.
I check doors, windows, etc several times in the evening and I have not been attacked. I do it because of anxiety. I think that checking does increase with increased anxiety level.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-12-2008, 05:42 AM   #3
Veteran
(female)

maybecrazy HB User

Hi Negot,