It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2010, 04:44 PM   #1
(female)

Marina2042 HB User
Newly diagnosed PTSD

I am not sure where to begin really...After years of feeling miserable I started seeing a therapist. The first one turned out not to be right for me (I had no trust with her). I stopped seeing her and went to someone who specializes in trauma and something called EMDR. My new therapist diagnosed me with c-ptsd which I guess is a lot worse then PTSD. I tend to suppress my emotions, avoid anything and everything that reminds me of my past, total failure at relationships and am generally disconnected (which I guess earned me that diagnosis). I am wondering if PTSD can be treated without medication? Also, is EMDR something worth exploring? I have had some traumatic childhood experiences (terrified of doctors, abusive grandparent etc....).

Sometimes I wonder if this is just something I have to live with....

Last edited by Marina2042; 05-18-2010 at 04:55 PM.

Old 05-18-2010, 05:14 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

EagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB UserEagleRiverDee HB User
Re: Newly diagnosed PTSD

My understanding it that PTSD responds better to therapy than to drugs. Wait a bit and push this to the top occasionally by replying to yourself...there are a couple of people on this forum that are very knowledgeable about PTSD and may respond. They've helped me a lot to understand PTSD.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2010, 07:01 PM   #3
Inactive
(female)