It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2012, 02:52 AM   #1
(female)

EmberLeigh HB User
Red face PTSD and irrational thoughts

Hi. I'm very new to this online community. Hello to all of you and thank you for taking the time to read this. I will always be sensitive to you all when posting. Please tell me if you think I need to word things differently so as to not stir up emotions in you or others.

Okay, here goes:

A few weeks ago, I found out that my rapist died (he actually passed away 6yrs ago). At first, I guiltily felt relief...that he can never hurt me or anyone else again. A few days later, I convinced myself that it would be a good idea to go get a copy of his death certificate as concrete proof that this man can never threaten, terrorize, or hurt me again. After all, I couldn't sleep for fear of nightmares and after zero sleep, it seemed like a good idea. Please understand I've lived in fear of him for nearly 20yrs.

So anyways...apparently reliving even going into that same courthouse (yet again, and over the same person) and speaking his name again brought my PTSD back with a vengeance.

So now I sit here, have been for a couple hours and in spite of distractions - in total IRRATIONAL fear of him! Is this normal? I know the flashbacks are, I understand why things I haven't thought about in so long are now fresh in my head - as though I'm currently that scared teenage girl rather than a woman in her 30's.

Sights, smells, sounds, words, thing in general are just amplified in these terrifying moments. I understand what PTSD is and why I have it (went through counseling after it happened...and periodically throughout my life).