It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2013, 10:04 AM   #1
(female)

Wispy Willow HB User
Grief, pain, confusion, etc. (This is VERY LONG!!!)

So this is my first time here on this forum, so I apologize in advance for how long this will be, as to explain what I'm going through I need to explain my very complicated life.

First of all my parents divorced when I was only a baby, and I growing up I lived with my mother (as an only child) until I was 20 (which is when I got to my breaking point). As a child I used to have regular weekend visits with my dad, but when I was a teenager I stopped talking him for 3 years, due to complicated circumstances that I'm still trying to understand.
I now currently live with my dad who is really the only stable thing in my life at the moment. I should also mention, throughout my childhood he was really the only support (both emotionally, physically and financially) that I had, and as you read on you'll probably wonder why he didn't try to take me out of the environment I was living in... the answer to that question is beyond complicated, and even though I hate the outcome, I respect and appreciate the reasons my dad has given me - as my life would have been a LOT WORSE had it of ended badly, as it would have due to the legal system at the time here in Australia.

Less than a year ago my mother diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder (which for those of you who don't know it, is basically a cross between schizophrenia and a mood-based disorder (in my mum's case it's bipolar)), and when I was 14 she was diagnosed with bipolar.
Up until then however, she was completely untreated in every way and very sick - both mentally and physically speaking!