It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pregnancy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2003, 06:07 PM   #1

WYdreamcatcher HB User
I need advice!

First, I probably should give a little background.. I'm a 19year old college student pregnant with her first child (and extremely excited considering the circumstances) The father of the child is someone who I am completely in love with, we've been together 2 years and it had always been a wonderful relationship. Very recently he told me of drug addictions he's had since well before he met me, (I am sober 100% of the time) and for all intensive purposes we've split, though we still have contact, phone calls every week or so. I believe that it would be the best decision for both the child and I if I were to give it up for adoption, but I'm afraid that he will not let me.. Are there any adoption laws that would allow me to put the child up for adoption regardless of the father's wishes? It would NOT be in the best interest to be with the father but worse-case scenario, he involves his MOTHER and she tries to get custody, how would the courts go? Does anyone have similar stories?

Old 12-01-2003, 07:34 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Blastoff9600 HB UserBlastoff9600 HB User
Re: I need advice!

Your best bet is to either try to find an adoption agency near you or go to a Planned Parenthood and ask them for info regarding adoptions. PP shoudl be able to help you find places that work out adoptions and then you can find out from them the laws regarding the father's rights and so on.
TTC #3 since 01/02

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-02-2003, 09:32 AM   #3

sm4321 HB User