It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pregnancy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2004, 02:06 AM   #1
Veteran

lilmom HB User
Question Breast milk????

Okay I'm not new to dealing with pumping, storing breast milk, I was a wet nurse last year. BUT I've had to add formula to my sons diet because my supply went down to almost nothing. i.e. 1/2 oz. I've tried everything, from mothers milk tea, fennugreek, tincture, I've even drank half and half, malted milk, you name it i've done. Even tried the beer before I knew I was preg. I've put him to the breast every two hours, I've tried my hand pump but like I said I only have 1/2 oz. From both sides.
Is there a perscription that helps in building the milk supply? Have you heard of it? The pediatrician mentioned it in the passing, a week ago. Are any of you on it? please help.
Lilmom
PS yes I know that pregnancy can effect my supply, am I fighting a losing battle?
DH returning from OIF November 2006!

Old 08-25-2004, 07:06 AM   #2
Senior Veteran

l8again HB User
Re: Breast milk????

I'm not sure of a prescription???? But I have heard that oatmeal can help increase milk supply. I was running lower than usual and I ate oatmeal. It actually helped get my supply back to normal.

If you are pg, sometimes breast milk will change to go with the new born.

Good luck to you. Hope you get more ideas here or that your ped can help out. You may want to contact a local La Leche League member if you have one in your area....

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-25-2004, 08:25 AM   #3
Veteran

lilmom HB User

I've done everything la leche league has suggested, never heard of the oatmeal, thanks I'll try it and I'll let you know
Lilmom

Old 08-27-2004, 09:08 AM   #4
Senior Veteran

l8again HB User

lilmom - how's it going???? did your breast milk production get better???

Old 08-27-2004, 12:15 PM   #5
Veteran

lilmom HB User