It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pregnancy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2005, 08:52 AM   #1
(female)

beccarx HB User
Smile newbie here...need reassurance

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. I have SO appreciated this site the past few weeks so I decided to join, even if I only have a few days of pregnancy left. Here's my story...

I am 24 years old and pregnant with my first child, due May 17, 2005! (WOW ONLY 6 MORE DAYS) DH and I have been married for five years and are thrilled with our upcoming arrival, a son, Ethan Maddox. However, like most first time mothers, I am TERRIFIED of labor. I have read everything I can get my hands on, watch "Baby Story" every day, and have really talked to my MD about my fears, but nothing seems to help. I feel like I mentally know what to expect, but am totally unprepared emotionally. I'm even waking up at night with anxiety attacks. My biggest fear is being in excruciating pain for hours, even though I plan on having an epidural ASAP.
I know I'm not the first to feel this way, so any encouragement would really be appreciated.

Old 05-11-2005, 09:10 AM   #2
(female)

wyliemom HB User
Re: newbie here...need reassurance

I felt the same way you did when I was waiting for my first baby to make her arrival. It is completely normal. But try to think positive about it and dont get yourself so worked up. Thats not good for the baby or you. I wont lie my contractions did hurt, but as soon as I got my epi I was great, NO PAIN. And from what I hear in most cases you wont feel pain during your pushing or labor with the epi. I had to have a c-section due to a fever, so I can only tell you what I hear. I also watch the Birth Day on the health channel. Good luck and try to keep positive. Let us know how it goes and how the little one is.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-11-2005, 09:10 AM   #3
(female)

Im_Robyn HB User