It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pregnancy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2005, 04:13 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

babygirl224 HB User
What about nosie?

I was just wondering if noises bother the baby. Sometimes at my job (i am a bookkeeper) the machines are running and it's loud. Do you think she is annoyed? Also, if the baby is use to the sounds will loud noises not bother her when she is born?

Also has anyone heard of when a baby is sleeping that you shouldn't be quiet this way he/she can sleep through anything?

Old 07-07-2005, 04:25 PM   #2
(female)

Noel's girl HB User
Re: What about nosie?

I have been told that you should not tip-toe around the baby when she is sleeping because it will be harder for her to sleep through noise you make arould the house, or when you take her to other events where they will be making noise. And I watched an episode on t.v. one day from conception to birth and I am pretty sure that it said that the noise that is made that is loud to you has to go through so much until it reaches the baby like the fluid in your baby etc. that it does not really bother the baby.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-07-2005, 04:35 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gayle0000 HB User

babygirl...this topic is discussed in the "What to Expect When You're Expecting" book. It talks about how loud just your own body is (bloodflow, heartbeat, your voice, etc). I'm not in the mood (nor is my body) to go upstairs & look it up, but it takes a lot of noise on the outside to override the noises already inside.

I've also read in several books the babies are more soothed by white noise versus being too quite...because they are already used to noise in the uterus.

I would highly recommend you get the book "What to Expect When You're Expecting". You can buy it for around $10 to $12 new, or at the library.
Gayle

Old 07-07-2005, 04:55 PM   #4