It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pregnancy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2005, 10:17 AM   #1
(female)

lismark HB User
Flu Shot & face wash Question

I am 14 weeks pregnant and I heard it was recommended to get the flu shot. I have never had the flu or the flu shot. I am a teacher and I think my tolerance of sicknesses has been pretty good, but my sister in law said that if I do get the flu it is even worse when you are pregnant, I'm not sure if she is exaggerating... I guess if it is a threat to the baby then that would be my only reason for getting it... Is anyone else getting the shot?
Also, when I found out, I was told not to use face washes or creams that had vit a, and salycilic acid in it? Anyone else told that? It is hard to find a face wash like that! Especially since I am breaking out! Anyone have any suggestions?

Old 10-23-2005, 10:25 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

lex jude HB User
Re: Flu Shot & face wash Question

I was never told anything about the face wash...hmmm. Interesting. Check with your doctor because a lot of those "I heard..." things are just old wives tales. I used them if it makes you feel better and my DS is just fine!

As for the flu shot....when I was pregnant during the flu season I didn't get the shot. I DID get sick however, and yea it did suck. But any cold you are gonna get is gonna suck. I mean the flu shot only protects you for certains strains of flu. You can get it for extra protection, but I would suggest just being careful, wash your hands a lot and take your prenantals. When you do get sick (and you will at least once) it will be aweful....but you'll be ok. It'll make you miserable, but it won't hurt your baby. They are pretty much protected in your belly there (plus, I got sick two times, and the second time your body is ready for it, and it isn't so bad.)