It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pregnancy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2006, 10:43 AM   #1
Inactive
(female)

KeltoKel HB User
When do you tell work about your BFP?

Hello girls. I am only 5.5 weeks pregnant and won't have my first appointment until I am 10 weeks. I am not sure when I should tell my boss about my pregnancy. I am due 11/25.

Here is the situation - I work at a school where I am an administrator and teach a little bit (part time - 3 days a week in the afternoons). I am at a private school so that means we sign contracts every year (no tenure). My boss meets with each employee in June/July to go over raises and contracts.

I know my boss is going to want to know what my plans are once I give birth. Although I would love to stay home, DH and I aren't sure if we can swing it at the moment. I kind of want to keep my job, but I know having a baby will probably make me want to try and stay home. Either way, DH and I are not sure and don't know when we will be 100% sure. If my boss asks me, what do I say?

I don't want to leave my school high and dry, but I also do not want to have to give an answer to my boss anytime soon. Any advice is appreciated.

Old 03-29-2006, 12:14 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

MellyMel HB User
Re: When do you tell work about your BFP?

Hi Kel:

I wish I could offer you some advice, but I am currently not working. I am only working for a temp job right now while someone is on maternity leave and then I'm back out of work unless I score something soon. I'm in a different boat. I have a second interview today at a law firm near home and it sounds promising. I just don't know if I'm offered the position if I should tell them that I am pregnant or not. I mean I am only five weeks, so I hate to really TELL them that just yet, but I hate to spring it on them in two months down the road and look like a sneak.