It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Psoriasis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2003, 03:52 PM   #1

quietly_serene HB User
Cool My Psoriasis Routine (YMMV)

First let me tell you that I'm not a doctor, nor am I in any way associated with the medical profession. I'm just a patient. A patient with psoriasis, so patient indeed. I've had it for some 13 years. I'm not a severe case like some people I've heard of. I've been called moderate when I was flaring up and mild when things were good. There is a question of whether I have psoriatic arthritis but I've not been officially diagnosed yet. I have my P on my scalp worst and then my trunk.

Corticosteroids:
I've tried many different steroid medications and I had some pretty interesting side effects. Photosensitivity is not much fun and I was very sensitive. My face would burn if I just walked to my mailbox and back. Not fun. All in all, I don't use steroid creams and scalp solutions much any more because I found that after a while they simply would not work for me. I still have valid prescriptions so that in case I do flare up out of control (like after strep throat), I can use something that I know will work.

Dovonex:
From what I could tell, dovonex isn't a steroid but a vitamin D derivative. I had a bad reaction to it (rash on top of psoriasis, and then psoriasis on top of healing rash) so I stopped using it. I haven't tried since and I doubt that I will try.

UV Therapy:
This was a new one for me. I started in January of this year. Basically it's a cabinet that you go into, close the door, put on some goggles and bask in the blue glow. I go 2 times a week and it's helped me prevent more flare ups. Once I don't get any more new spots, I can deal with the ones that I already have.

Shampoos: