It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Rare Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2008, 06:37 PM   #1
(female)

cbjag2 HB User
how rare is neurocardiogenic syncope?

Old 07-31-2009, 06:58 AM   #2
(female)

jennifertink HB User
Re: how rare is neurocardiogenic syncope?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbjag2 View Post
Apparently very rare. I was diagnosed a few years ago, maybe 4 years right before I graduated from college. My drs. had me go through almost every test in the book. I think it's linked in some way to panic attacks because I was having those also. They also think there may be a genetic link, but they can't prove it because I don't think they do any studies with that. When I went to a cardiologist to have a tilt table test and it was positive the cardio said that there really wasn't a medication you could be put on. Maybe if I were older like my mom (who also has ncs and was diagnosed b4 me) he could have done that but not me b/c I was only 22. However, I was put on a beta blocker to help prior to seeing the cardio and he said to stay on that. However, it also goes to show you that drs. don't know everything b/c beta blockers like the atenolol that I was on inflame asthma if you're an asthmatic. So that kind of screwed up the asthma that I had under control for the most part. The cardio said the only thing I could do was increase salt intake, water intake, and if I start having symptoms to lay down as fast as I can b/c you can die if you don't. He also told me to not go to the rest room if I start having symptoms (which include cold sweats, hot feeling throughout your body, something called a diaphretic reaction which makes you want to vomit or go to the bathroom really, really badly, so how can you NOT go to the restroom?!) because you may pass out and hit your head, especially if you are on your own. Be careful because one of the last times I had