It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Rare Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2011, 10:10 AM   #1
Inactive
(female)

lvb HB User
PFAPA Questions

Hi - I had never heard of PFAPA until yesterday, so I am just learning. My 2 year old son (turned two end of July) has been getting sick about once a month for the past 9 months or so. It always seems to be the same...we get a call from daycare that he is running a fever in the afternoon...by the evening he has a very high temp (usually around 105 when the Motrin wears off) and it lasts for about 5 days. He typically has an ear infection, and has stuff in his throat that they suspect to be strep but comes out negative. My questions are...

1) Is it normal to have ear infections along with this? Or is there hope he just gets regular ear infections and the fever is a result of that? My doubts about this are that the fever does not subside after he has been on antibiotics for a few days.

2) Is it normal for the fevers to be less regular (or less regular when this first starts)? I tried to track since March, and the time between fevers has been (in days): 35, 19, 77, 21, 40, 16, 15.

Thank you so much!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-20-2011, 10:03 AM   #2
(male)

Charlie11 HB User
Re: PFAPA Questions