It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD) (CRPS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2011, 12:29 PM   #1
(female)

Boat Girl HB User
Question Spinal Cord Stimulator for RSD

Hi! Since I'm new to this board, please bear with me. I'm still learning how to navigate my way around. Anyway, I'm in the process of getting insurance approval for a trial SCS. I'm a little nervous about it, but my doctor feels this is one of the last options. I've already done therapy, water therapy, ganglion stellate blocks, TENS unit, and most of the meds. Recently the pain is so bad that right now I'm not working (standing and walking 80% of the day was killing me). I was just wondering if anyone has had the SCS, and what kind of success or problems you have had. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The following user gives a hug of support to Boat Girl:
laurav (10-03-2011)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-25-2011, 04:17 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

K_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB User
Re: Spinal Cord Stimulator for RSD

Well, I told you my story, and you can do a search for when I was asking questions about it. I did learn that you don't have to have it turned up really high to still have it work. It worked best at a low level. I had a lot of positional changes, esp with the trial. The permanent one (I had the paddle leads) worked where the positional changes weren't that bad. I did turn it off at night, or really, really low, because when you lie on your back the stimulation will increase dramatically.