It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD) (CRPS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2012, 07:42 PM   #1
(female)

Kathryn802 HB User
New member: RSD remission. Advice and help needed

History:

10 years ago, when I was 22, I was diagnosed with RSD in my left foot. I went hiking the week before I graduated from college. When I returned, my big toe on my left foot hurt and in about a week or so that pain spread to my entire foot and the entire foot swelled inhibiting my ability to walk. I went to multiple doctors and they tested me for everything from Lyme and lupus to HIV. My x-rays were normal, but clearly with the amount of swelling and pain, there was something wrong. Finally I had a bone scan that showed almost the whole foot lit up. I was sent to a rheumatologist and he diagnosed me with RSD. I don't remember burning pain, but there was extreme, extreme pain. My toes became deformed almost immediately. There was increased sweating and hair growth and a very pale look to the foot. It took about a year, during which I had to delay going to grad school, and lots of medication to go into remission. I had two sympathetic nerve blocks that finally kicked the RSD out of me.

Complicating matters, I was diagnosed with severe psoriatic arthritis about 2 months after my RSD diagnosis. In the 10 years since RSD, my psoriatic arthritis changed my life. I had to give up my chosen profession (teacher) because my mobility is very limited. The PsA has spread throughout my entire body, but is most pronounced in my left foot where the RSD was. My toe joints are permanently deformed. Medication is unable to control it.

Current problem: