It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2004, 10:07 AM   #1

sea_blossom HB User
Work Situation

I've been working at a locally owned store for about a month. I graduated this past November with a business communications degree. I eventually want to be a retail manager. I don't have much retail experience, so I got a job as a sales associate. The owner, my boss, and his two brothers own the store. The two brothers don't know much at all about the business. They stop in occasionally to see how things are going and to talk with the owner - they own a construction business as well. The owner handles most of the paperwork, and he has hired a manager who will eventually take over most of the business operations. One of the brothers, "Larry," was in the store last week. He and the manager were having a friendly conversation. I wasn't really involved, but happened to be standing there at the time. Larry started asking me why I wasn't laughing at his jokes or paying attention to what he was saying. I replied that I was trying to keep busy and started doing some cleaning. I don't know why he was asking me this, because I only talked to him once and hardly know him. They were discussing something that I wasn't interested in. Later, he tossed a candy wrapper at me and told me to throw it away - I tossed it back, and said "you throw it away." He then replied that I needed to be slapped. I didn't know what to say. He left and I commented to the manager that I did not like this guy. She kinda played it off, and said ignore him, he's like that, he's not here that often. She has said that he treats his wife that way, but that doesn't mean I am going to tolerate being treated that way. I'm planning on talking to the owner about it when I come in tomorrow. I don't know what to say because Larry is his brother. Maybe I'm taking